STICK TO YOUR GUNS - What Choice Did You Give[starttext]Stick to Your Guns is an American hardcore punk band from Orange County, California. The band consists of Jesse Barnett (vocals), Andrew Rose (bass), George Schmitz (drums), Chris Rawson and Josh James (guitars) and they are currently signed to Sumerian Records.[1][2][3][4][5][6]



Early years (2003–2008)

Frontman Jesse Barnett formed the band recruiting Casey Lagos on drums, who knew on the worship team for Saddleback Church. The two began writing together before recruiting Justin Rutherford and Curtis Pleshe on guitars and Noah Calvin on bass. After numerous local shows they recorded an 8-song EP entitled Compassion without Compromise in 2004. The band traveled to Oakland, California, to record their debut album For What It's Worth, which was later released on This City Is Burning Records. The album included the song "This Is More", which is the band's most-known song and generated a buzz about the band nationally. After everyone in the band graduated high school, they toured intensively throughout the states.
On 2007, Century Media Records signed the band and re-released their debut album with two bonus tracks. After several line-up changes, the band started recording their second full-length album with only two members, Jesse Barnett and Casey Lagos. Marking a huge change in the vocal style of Jesse, Comes from the Heart was released in 2008 through Century Media Records. That year, the band was part of Warped Tour, Hell on Earth and many other tours. While supporting the Every Time I Die tour during November 2008, Casey Lagos decided to quit the band to pursue his own career in music.

Signing with Sumerian Records (2008–2011)

Ash Avildsen of Sumerian Records signed the band after seeing them at the Anaheim House of Blues.[7] In 2010 the band began working on their third full-length with an estable line-up consisting of Jesse Barnett on vocals, George Schmitz on drums, Chris Rawson and Reid Haymond on guitars and Andrew Rose on bass. The Hope Division was released on June 1 meeting critical acclaim and leading them to mainstream success.
On November 2011, Stick to Your Guns posted a picture on their Facebook of a 20-year-old Arizona fan, Samuel Perkins, after several of his friends got tattoos of the heart which features on the cover of The Hope Division as a tribute to their friend. Along with the tattoo are the words "At least he died a lion." This was due to his long and painful battle with a brain tumor that he fought against; his friends called him the best person they have ever met. Stick to Your Guns saw the unity in their actions and decided to pay tribute to him by performing as the headliner at Sam's memorial show.[8]

Diamond and Disobedient (2011–present)

On 2011, a stand-alone single titled "Bringing You Down (A New World Overthrow)" and featuring guest vocals of Karl Schwartz from First Blood, was released in support of the Occupy Wall Street movement. This song was an early version of a single from their fourth album, Diamond, which was released in 2012 with Josh James (of Evergreen Terrace) replacing Reid Haymond on guitar. The genre-bending album debuted on the Billboard charts making it to #1 on the Heatseekers chart, #11 for Hard Rock Albums, #30 for Rock Albums and placed on the BILLBOARD 200.[9] Later that year, Josh James confirmed that he left Evergreen Terrace to become a permanent member of the band.
The band released several single to promote the album. One of the singles, "We Still Believe", went on to gain consistent radio play. The album scored the band a spot on the 2013 Warped Tour.[10] While on the Warped Tour, it was announced that “Diamond” won an Independent Music Award for best Hardcore/Metal Album of the year.[11]
On 2013, Pure Noise Records released a split EP which contained two songs from the band and two from The Story So Far. The EP featured their single "We Still Believe" and a cover of Inside Out's "Burning Fight". On 2014, they released Diamond: Decade Edition, a vinyl re-release of Diamond which featured three bonus tracks. The band was also featured on Florence + The Sphinx: Sumerian Ceremonials, a tribute album to Florence + The Machine, covering "Dog Days Are Over".
On February 5, 2014, the band entered the studio with producer John Feldmann (The Used, Story of the Year) to record their fifth studio album.[12] Throughout the recording, the band released studio updates, confirming several guests to record vocals on the record, including: Scott Vogel of Terror,[13] Toby Morse of H2O,[14] Walter Delgado of Rotting Out,[15] the members of Motionless in White[16] and producer John Feldmann himself.[17] Recording finished on March 12, 2014.
On September 16, 2014, the band released a teaser video for their new album on their Facebook page, announcing the album's title as being Disobedient, as well as the album's release date - February 10, 2015.[18] The band then premiered a new track from the album on October 21, titled 'Nobody' through Alternative Press.[19]

Band members


0 comentários:

Postar um comentário